Heywell Film Scripts Blog

Comedy. Drama. Horror. Suspense. My life AND my scripts.

Greetings Double-Oh-Seven (2007)

Posted by bobheske on December 29, 2006

Happy New YearHard to believe we’re already on the cusp of 2007 – some seven years after reaching the “Mendoza Line” of my middle age (actually, I was a mere 38 in the arrival of the new millennium). Still, I raise my beer glass to 2006 which was a year of gratification and personal bests:

    I became a first-time father
    My second marriage lasted longer than my first (15 months and counting!)
    I optioned my first feature script…
    …And optioned 9 shorts
    I enjoyed a freelance job with satisfying work, good pay, and low stress
    I celebrated Thanksgiving and Christmas with three generations of my immediate family who are alive, kicking, and cussing

On the down (or up) side … my waistline once again reached an all-time high.
I’ll be eating salad up until the Super Bowl (when the Patriots win for the 4th time this decade).

Here are some fast and quick resolutions for 2007:

  • Write more features than shorts
  • Spend less, be smarter on marketing
  • Go to a conference (or two)
  • See my work at a film festival
  • Get IMDB credits
  • Win a major contest
  • Join WGAE (or WGA if I get really successful and move to LA)
  • Make more contacts & make even more friends
  • Stay healthy, happy, and married
  • Watch a movie I wrote with three generations of Heske’s who are still alive, still kicking, but now clapping
  • And to close, a wish for you from an Irish Wedding Toast:

    May you be poor in misfortune, rich in blessings, slow to make enemies and quick to make friends. And may you know nothing but happiness from this day forward.

    Peace and God Bless.

    Bob Heske
    Screenwriter

    Leave a Reply

         
